Alicia Keys won’t be wearing makeup anymore

Singer Alicia Keys has given up wearing makeup at 35-years-old, explaining her decision not to cover up anymore in a letter published in online publication Lenny.

“Every time I left the house, I would be worried if I didn’t put on makeup,” Keys writes.

“What if someone wanted a picture?? What if they POSTED it??? These were the insecure, superficial, but honest thoughts I was thinking. And all of it, one way or another, was based too much on what other people thought of me.”

“It wasn’t until I walked into one of my first shoots for my new album recently that the issue was front and center again. I’d just come from the gym, had a scarf under my baseball cap, and the beautiful photographer Paola (never met a Paola I didn’t like) said, “I have to shoot you right now, like this! The music is raw and real, and these photos have to be too!””

One of the images from that photo shoot became the album cover for her new single In Common, which you can listen to below.

Featured image credit: Paula Kudacki/Lenny

Leave a Reply

